International legal shield offers
Assistance in preparation, submission and the follow up of the SBA loan forms for $495
SBA’s Working Capital Disaster Loans
SBA’s Economic Injury Disaster Loan Terms How much can I borrow?
- Up to $150.000
- Interest rates
- Small Businesses 3.75 %
- Most Private, Non-Profits 2.75 %
- Terms up to 30 years
- Eligibility based on the size, type of business and financial resources
How can I use the loan funds?
- Fixed debts (rent, etc.)
- Accounts payable
- Some bills that could have been paid had the disaster not occurred.
Who Can Apply
- Applicant is a business with not more than 500 employees.
- Applicant is an individual who operates under a sole proprietorship, with or without employees, or as an independent contractor.
- Applicant is a cooperative with not more than 500 employees.
- Applicant is an Employee Stock Ownership Plan (ESOP) with not more than 500 employees.
- Applicant is a tribal small business concern with not more than 500 employees.
- Applicant is a business, including an agricultural cooperative, aquaculture enterprise.
- Applicant is a business with more than 500 employees that is small under SBA Size Standards found
- Applicant is a private non-profit organization that is a non-governmental agency or entity that currently
- has an effective ruling letter from the IRS granting tax exemption under sections 501(c), (d), or (e) of the OR satisfactory evidence from the State that the non-revenue producing organization or entity is a non-profit one organized or doing business under State law, or a faith-based organization.
Who Cannot Apply
- Engaged in any illegal activity (as defined by Federal guidelines).
- Principal of the Applicant with a 50 percent or greater ownership interest is more than 60 days delinquent on child support.
- Agricultural enterprise (e.g., farm) other than an aquaculture enterprise, agricultural cooperative, or nursery.
- Presents live performances, sale of products, any depictions of displays of a prurient sexual nature (directly or indirectly).
- Derives more than one-third of gross annual revenue from legal gambling activities.
- Is in the business of lobbying.
- Is a state, local, or municipal government entity and cannot be a member of Congress.
Primary Criteria for Approval
- Acceptable Credit History
- Ability to repay the SBA loan
Ineligible Uses of Loan
- Dividends and bonuses
- Disbursements to owners, unless for performance of services
- Repayment of stockholder/principal loans (with exceptions)
- Expansion of facilities or acquisition of fixed assets
- Repair or replacement of physical damages
- Refinancing long term debt
- Paying down (including regular installment payments) or paying off loans provided, or owned by another Federal agency (including
- SBA) or a Small Business Investment Company
- Payment of any part of a direct Federal debt, (including SBA loans) except IRS obligations
Collecting Unemployment Benefits in Florida
Find out the unemployment eligibility rules, benefit amounts, and more for Florida.
In Florida—as in every other state—employees who are temporarily out of work through no fault of their own may qualify to collect unemployment benefits. The eligibility rules, prior earnings requirements, benefit amounts, and other details vary from state to state, however. Here are the basic rules for collecting unemployment in Florida; the state calls these benefits “reemployment assistance.” In Florida, the agency responsible for unemployment benefits is called the Department of Economic Opportunity.
coronavirus and Unemployment: The CARES Act
After a week that saw a record 3.3 million people file for unemployment benefits, Congress passed a $2 trillion stimulus package on March 27, 2020. The law, known as The Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act, provides for direct cash transfers to each adult and expanded unemployment benefits. The highlights of the new law include:
- cash payments of up to $1,200 (plus $500 for each child age 16 or under) for each qualifying adult
- an additional $600 per week on top of any state-provided unemployment benefits through July 31
- up to 13 weeks of unemployment benefits in addition to what your state provides, up to 39 weeks; and
- unemployment benefits for self-employed and gig workers.
If you’ve been laid off or seen your hours reduced due to COVID-19, you may be eligible for unemployment benefits. In addition, you may qualify if you can’t work because you’ve been told to quarantine or self-isolate, you’re caring for a family member with COVID-19, or you’re looking after a child whose school has closed. If you quit your job without meeting any of these criteria, your claim for unemployment will probably be denied. Read more about the new law.
Florida Unemployment Benefits: Eligibility Requirements
You must meet three eligibility requirements to collect unemployment in Florida:
- Your past earnings must meet certain minimum thresholds.
- You must be unemployed through no fault of your own, as defined by Florida law.
- You must be able, available, and actively looking for work.
Do You Meet the Minimum Earnings Requirement?
Virtually all states look at your recent work history and earnings during a one-year “base period” to determine your eligibility for unemployment. (See Nalo’s article Unemployment Compensation: Understanding the Base Period for more information.) In Florida, as in most states, the base period is the earliest four of the five complete calendar quarters before you filed your claim for benefits. For example, if you filed your claim in October of 2020, the base period would be from June 1, 2019, through May 31, 2020.
During the base period, your work history and earnings must meet all three of these requirements:
- You must have been paid wages in at least two of the four calendar quarters that make up the base period.
- Your earnings during the entire base period must be at least one-and-a-half times your wages in the highest paid quarter of the base period. For example, if you earned $5,000 during your highest paid quarter, your total earnings for the base period year must be at least $7,500.
- You must have earned at least $3,400 during the entire base period.